Clinical Commissioning Groups approved for joint commissioning

North Somerset Clinical Commissioning Group is one of the GP-led Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) around the country have been approved to jointly commission GP services with NHS England, it has been announced today.
Doctor talking to his patient

This follows the announcement last week of the first CCGs approved to take on greater delegated responsibility for GP services and means that from 1 April, over 70 percent of CCGs (a total of 150 to date) will take on greater commissioning responsibility for GP services.

The new primary care co-commissioning arrangements are part of a series of changes set out in the NHS Five Year Forward View to deliver a new deal for primary care and another next step towards plans set out by NHS England Chief Executive Simon Stevens early last year to give patients, communities and clinicians more involvement in deciding local health services.

Dr Amanda Doyle, Primary Care Co-Commissioning Programme Oversight Group Co-Chair and Chief Clinical Officer for NHS Blackpool CCG, said: “Co-commissioning is a key enabler in developing seamless, integrated out-of-hospital services based around the needs of local populations. It gives greater commissioning power to local areas and will help drive the development of new integrated models of care such as multispecialty community providers and primary and acute care systems.”

Ian Dodge, National Director for Commissioning Strategy at NHS England, said: “We’ve now backed a total of 150 CCGs to take on delegated and joint commissioning powers to improve local primary care. This sends a strong message about the confidence we have in CCGs, and is another demonstration of our commitment to a new deal for primary care.  Joining up the commissioning system is critical to help unlock new models of integrated care described in the NHS Five Year Forward View.”

Joint commissioning is one of three models offered to CCGs to allow greater involvement in planning and delivering primary care health services. It enables one or more CCGs to assume responsibility for jointly commissioning primary medical care services with NHS England, either through a joint committee or ‘committees in common’.

CCGs that haven’t yet applied as well as CCGs not approved at this stage will have further opportunities to apply for greater delegated commissioning responsibility. NHS England will continue to provide support to help them achieve the commissioning model that works best for them.

Joint commissioning is part of plans set out in the Next steps towards primary care co-commissioning document developed by the joint CCG and NHS England primary care co-commissioning programme oversight group in partnership with NHS Clinical Commissioners and will support the journey towards the wider strategic agenda set out in the Five Year Forward View.

The 87 CCGs have been approved for joint commissioning subject to constitutional amendments and the signing of terms of reference by the 31 March 2015


  • NHS Northumberland CCG
  • NHS North Tyneside CCG
  • NHS Newcastle Gateshead CCG
  • NHS South Tyneside CCG
  • NHS Darlington CCG
  • NHS Hartlepool And Stockton-On-Tees CCG
  • NHS South Tees CCG
  • NHS Lancashire North CCG
  • NHS Greater Huddersfield CCG
  • NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire And Whitby CCG
  • NHS East Riding Of Yorkshire CCG
  • NHS Hull CCG
  • NHS North Lincolnshire CCG
  • NHS North East Lincolnshire CCG
  • NHS Bassetlaw CCG
  • NHS Southport And Formby CCG
  • NHS Heywood, Middleton & Rochdale CCG
  • NHS Tameside And Glossop CCG
  • NHS North Manchester CCG
  • NHS Central Manchester CCG
  • NHS Stockport CCG
  • NHS South Manchester CCG
  • NHS Trafford CCG
  • NHS Salford CCG
  • NHS Bolton CCG
  • NHS Bury CCG
  • NHS Eastern Cheshire CCG
  • NHS Warrington CCG
  • NHS Vale Royal CCG
  • NHS South Cheshire CCG
  • NHS West Cheshire CCG

Midland and East

  • NHS Wyre Forest CCG
  • NHS Redditch And Bromsgrove CCG
  • NHS Warwickshire North CCG
  • NHS Herefordshire CCG
  • NHS Walsall CCG
  • NHS Solihull CCG
  • NHS Stafford And Surrounds CCG
  • NHS Cannock Chase CCG
  • NHS East Staffordshire CCG
  • NHS Ipswich And East Suffolk CCG
  • NHS West Suffolk CCG
  • NHS Cambridgeshire And Peterborough CCG
  • NHS Corby CCG
  • NHS Nene CCG
  • NHS East And North Hertfordshire CCG
  • NHS Herts Valleys CCG


  • NHS Bexley CCG
  • NHS Greenwich CCG
  • NHS Bromley CCG
  • NHS Lewisham CCG
  • NHS Croydon CCG
  • NHS Southwark CCG
  • NHS Lambeth CCG
  • NHS Sutton CCG
  • NHS Merton CCG
  • NHS Wandsworth CCG
  • NHS Kingston CCG
  • NHS Richmond CCG
  • NHS Central London (Westminster) CCG
  • NHS West London (K&C & Qpp) CCG
  • NHS Hammersmith And Fulham CCG
  • NHS Brent CCG
  • NHS Ealing CCG
  • NHS Hounslow CCG
  • NHS Hillingdon CCG
  • NHS Harrow CCG


  • NHS Oxfordshire CCG
  • NHS Aylesbury Vale CCG
  • NHS North & West Reading CCG
  • NHS Chiltern CCG
  • NHS South Reading CCG
  • NHS Slough CCG
  • NHS Newbury And District CCG
  • NHS Windsor, Ascot And Maidenhead CCG
  • NHS Wokingham CCG
  • NHS Bracknell And Ascot CCG
  • NHS North East Hampshire And Farnham CCG
  • NHS Isle Of Wight CCG
  • NHS Southampton City CCG
  • NHS Dorset CCG
  • NHS Wiltshire CCG
  • NHS Bath And North East Somerset CCG
  • NHS Swindon CCG
  • NHS Bristol CCG
  • NHS North Somerset CCG
  • NHS Somerset CCG

Do health and social care services know what you really think?

Share your ideas and experiences and help services hear what works, what doesn’t, and what you want from care in the future. 

Share your views